2018 Winners & Finalists

The TIS National Excellence Awards: Inspire to Achieve, in association with the Scottish Government, took place on Saturday 9th June, and saw housing organisations, tenants, residents, and community groups come out on top as they scooped the top prizes for their outstanding work and commitment within the Scottish housing sector.

This year, the Tenants Information Service (TIS) received an impressive response and welcomed high quality nominations across all nine award categories. Finalists were selected from a longlist of applicants by an independent judging panel that consisted of representatives from organisations including Queens Cross Housing Association, Dundee City Council and The Scottish Government.

TIS Chief Executive, Ilene Campbell, commented:

“The exceptional quality of entries really shined through this year. The strength of applications highlighted the fantastic developments that organisations are taking to lead the way throughout the sector.”

Finalists from across Scotland made this year’s shortlist a hotly anticipated contest in a bid to receive one of nine prestigious trophies. The award ceremony and Gala Dinner took at the Westerwood Hotel and Resort, Cumbernauld and was hosted by TV and radio presenter, Cat Harvey.


The finalists and winners recognised at the awards ceremony were:

NEW in 2018 Best Innovative Practice Award
Sponsor: Argyll Community Housing Association
Presenter: Douglas Prophet, Vice Chairperson, Argyll Community Housing Association

Winner: Tenant Participation Development Working Group & TP Team, West Lothian Council
Runner-up: Connect4Renfrewshire, Linstone Housin


Community Development Excellence Award
Sponsor: CIH Scotland
Presenter: Gary Dalziel, Vice Chairperson, CIH Scotland

Winner: East Ayrshire Federation of Tenants and Residents

Finalist: HETRA, East Lothian Mental Health Peer Support Sub-group


Frances Nelson MBE Excellence Award
Sponsor: Dundee City Council
Presenter: Anne Rendall, Depute Convener of Neighbourhood Services, Dundee City Council

Winner: Norma Groves, Aberdeen City Council
Runner-up: June Anderson, Clackmannanshire Federation of Tenants and Residents

Finalist: Sam Hewitt, South Lanarkshire Tenants Development Support Project
Finalist: Steve Byrne, Highland & Argyll & Bute Regional Network of RTOs


Most Inspiring Scrutiny Group Award
Sponsor: N/A
Presenter: Alice Bovill, Chairperson, TIS

Winner: Budget Scrutiny Group, South Lanarkshire Council
Winner: The Bield Improvement Group, Bield Housing & Care

Finalist: Housing Service Review Group, Aberdeen City Council
Finalist: Scrutiny Focus Panel, Castle Rock Edinvar


Most Inspiring Scrutiny Newcomer Award
Sponsor: Glen Oaks Housing Association
Presenter: Elaine McShane, Chairperson, Glen Oaks Housing Association

Winner: Your Voice Scrutiny Group, Argyll Community Housing Association

Finalist: Customer Scrutiny Group, South Lanarkshire Council
Finalist: Hanover HEART, Hanover (Scotland) Housing Association


Scrutiny Excellence Award
Sponsor: Cunninghame Housing Association
Presenter: Jeanette Strang, Chairperson, Cunninghame Housing Association

Winner: Tenant Scrutiny Group, East Lothian Council

Finalist: Housing Service Review Group, Aberdeen City Council


Tenant Participation Champion Award
Sponsor: The Scottish Government
Presenter: Susan McLellan, Tenant Participation Manager, The Scottish Government

Winner: Carol Hannaford, Aberdeen City Council

Finalist: Margaret Bailie, Linstone Housing
Finalist: Max Scotto, Kingdom Housing Association


Danny Mullen Tenant Participation Excellence Award
Sponsor: West Lothian Tenants Housing Network
Presenter: Cllr George Paul Executive Councillor for Services to the Community Policy Development and Scrutiny Panel

Winner: Aberdeen City Council

Finalist: Sheltered Housing Conference Planning Group, South Lanarkshire Council


Tenants and Residents of the Year Award
Sponsor: International Union of Tenants
Presenter: Jan Laurier, International Union of Tenants

Winner: Rigside and Douglas Water Tenants and Residents Association, South Lanarkshire Council

Finalist: Braehead Park Tenants and Residents Association, North Lanarkshire Council
Finalist: Dundee Federation of Tenants Associations


TIS would like to thank this year’s judges, presenters, sponsors, and partners for your support. Applications for next year’s TIS National Excellence Awards will open in January 2019.