North Lanarkshire Federation Participation Award Winners Announced at Annual Conference.

North Lanarkshire Federation (NLF) are thrilled to announce the winners of this year’s Annual Participation Award, which recognises the contributions of local Tenants and Residents Associations in participation activity with the Federation and the TIS Tenants & Residents Participation Project.
This year’s award winners were Salsburgh Tenants and Residents Association who won the Outstanding Contribution Award and Harthill and Eastfield Tenants & Residents Association and Coatbridge Central Tenants and Residents Association who shared joint place in the Commendable Contribution category.
The awards were presented at the NLF Conference and AGM at Bellshill Hilton Hotel, which was a highly successful one day event, attended by over 100 delegates from across North Lanarkshire.
Delegates were treated to inspiring speeches from Anne McGhee, NLF Chairperson and Elaine McHugh, Head of Housing for North Lanarkshire Council; informative workshops covering contemporary topics including Welfare Reform, Community Safety & Antisocial Behaviour, Tenant Scrutiny and Housing Repairs Services; and an opportunity to browse the exhibition stalls.
Anne McGhee, Chairperson of North Lanarkshire Federation said “We were pleased to take the opportunity to recognise the dedication and hard work of the organisations who won the Annual Participation Awards, and have the awards presented at such a successful conference. We’d like to thank the staff from the TIS Tenants’ and Residents Participation Project for their support in organising the conference.”
The Federation also made a special presentation this year to local resident John Colquhoun; John has been involved in the tenant’s movement in North Lanarkshire for 25 years.
This year has been a special year for the Federation having won the Frances Nelson MBE Award 2013; Sharon Donohoe TIS Development Manager took the opportunity at the event to present the award to the Federation and members of the Motherwell Towers Sub Group.
Anne McGhee commented “We’re delighted to have won the TIS Frances Nelson Award this year; it’s wonderful to be recognised for this work – the sub group represents a real partnership from the members of the group, North Lanarkshire Council and the staff from the TIS Project”

For more information, contact Janet Stevenson
Telephone: 01236 435 844



Comments are closed.