Frances Nelson Award 2009-2014

In 2009 we introduced the Frances Nelson MBE Award in memory of our former Convenor.

The Frances Nelson MBE Award is now part of the TIS National Excellence Awards and recognises individual tenants, residents or volunteers who have dedicated time to making a difference in their community or wider area.

Who was Frances Nelson MBE?

Frances was a founding member and Chair of the Dundee Federation of Tenants’ Associations.  As a result of this she became involved with TIS, serving on our committee from 1993 before becoming Vice-Convenor and then Convenor in 2003. She remained as Convenor until she passed away. Frances was totally committed to improving Tenant Participation throughout Scotland.

Frances was passionate about tenants’ rights and dedicated herself to fighting for tenants’ rights in Dundee and across Scotland. In 1999 as a member of the Tenant Participation Working Group she worked with other tenants’ representatives and the Scottish Office to develop “Partners in Participation” the first national framework for tenant participation in Scotland.  This led to the Housing (Scotland) Act 2001 which introduced a legal framework for tenant participation for the first time in Scotland.   Frances believed that everyone is entitled to a decent home and she worked tirelessly to ensure tenants have an influence in decisions about their housing services and standards.


Previous Winners

2014 Winners

Umbrella Group – Us and the Housing

rsz_chapelhallLocal Group – Chapelhall Tenants and Residents Association





2013 Winners

class=Umbrella Group – North Lanarkshire Federation





Onthank_TLocal Group – Onthank Tenants and Residents Association





2012 Winners

East Ayrshire Tenants & Residents FederationUmbrella Group – East Ayrshire Tenants & Residents Federation





Phoenix Tenants Association, DundeeLocal Group – Phoenix Tenants Association






2011 Winners

2011 East Ayrshire Tenants & Residents FederationUmbrella Group – East Ayrshire Tenants & Residents Federation






West Lothian Homeless_T

Local Group – West Lothian Homeless TLI






2010 Winners

Edinburgh Tenants Federation_T copy

Umbrella Group – Edinburgh Tenants Federation






East Gauchallands_TLocal Group – East Gauchallands Tenants & Residents Association






2009 Winners

Glendoe Terrace Residents Association_T copyUmbrella Group – Glendoe Terrace Residents Association






Gilfoot and Girvan Tenants and Residents_TLocal Group – Gilfoot and Girvan Tenants & Residents Association