TIS National Excellence Awards 2017

The TIS National Excellence Awards 2017 ceremony took place on Saturday 11 June, and saw tenant and resident groups and landlords come out on top as they scooped the top prizes for their outstanding work and commitment within the Scottish housing sector.

This year, the Tenants Information Service (TIS) received an impressive response and welcomed high-quality nominations across all eight award categories. Finalists were selected from a longlist of applicants by an independent judging panel that consisted of representatives from organisations including Cunninghame Housing Association, Dundee City Council and The Scottish Government.

TIS Chief Executive, Ilene Campbell, commented:

“The exceptional quality of entries really shined through this year. The strength of applications highlighted the fantastic developments that organisations are taking to lead the way throughout the sector.”

Finalists from across Scotland made this year’s shortlist a hotly anticipated contest in a bid to receive one of eight prestigious trophies. The award ceremony and gala dinner took place at the Westerwood Hotel and Resort, Glasgow as part of the TIS Annual Conference 2017, hosted by Scottish born actress, Libby McArthur.


Watch the exclusive highlights from the ceremony

The finalists and winners recognised at the awards ceremony were:

Tenant Participation Excellence Award
Presenter: Adele Fraser, Chief Executive, Linstone Housing Association

Winner: West Lothian Council Tenant Participation Team

Finalist: Aberdeen City Council
Finalist: Link Housing Association


Scrutiny Excellence Award, sponsored by Hillcrest Housing Association
Presenter: Alice Bovill, TIS Chairperson

Winner: Link Housing Association

Finalist: Aberdeen City Council
Finalist: Perth & Kinross Council


Tenant Participation Champion, sponsored by the Scottish Government
Presenter: Ann Marie Stanley, the Scottish Government

Winner: Douglas Mutrie, Blackwood Homes & Care
Runner-up: Charles Tippet, Blackwood Homes & Care

Finalist: Gary Craig, East Ayrshire Council
Finalist: Laura Strang, Glen Oaks Housing Association


Most Inspiring Scrutiny Group
Presenter: Ilene Campbell, TIS Chief Executive

Winner: Trust Housing Association Customer Panel

Finalist: Aberdeen City Council Housing Service Review Group
Finalist: Castle Rock Edinvar Scrutiny Focus Panel


Most Inspiring Scrutiny Newcomer
Presenter: Elaine Byrne, Director, Scotland’s Housing Network

Winner: Glen Oaks Housing Association Service Improvement Group

Finalist: Cunninghame Housing Association Scrutiny Group
Finalist: Queens Cross Housing Association Resident Task ForcE


Frances Nelson MBE Excellence, sponsored by Dundee City Council
Presenter: Anne Rendall, Depute Convener of Neighbourhood Services, Dundee City Council

Winner: Paul McMenemy, Aberdeen City Council
Runner-up: Liz Dewar, Letham Residents’ Association

Finalist: Colin Stewart, Castlehill Housing Association
Finalist: Mark Ormiston, East Lothian Tenants & Residents Panel


Community Development Excellence, sponsored by the CIH
Presenter: Amanda Britain, Board Chair, CIH Scotland

Winner: Muirpark Steading View Tenants and Residents Association

Finalist: East Ayrshire Tenants and Residents Federation
Finalist: The Letham Community Hub Project


Tenants and Residents Organisation of the Year, sponsored by the IUT
Presenter: Jan Laurier, IUT

Winner: Tenants and Residents in Muirhouse/Friends of West Pilton

Finalist: Edinburgh Tenants Federation
Finalist: Longpark and Gladstone Tenants and Residents Association Ltd


Applications for next year’s TIS National Excellence Awards will open in January 2018.