TIS National Excellence Awards 2016

The TIS National Excellence Awards recognise and celebrate the outstanding work of those who are committed to making a true difference within the Scottish housing sector.

2016 Winners Announced

The TIS National Excellence Awards 2016 ceremony took place on Saturday 11 June, and saw tenant and resident groups and landlords come out on top as they scooped the top prizes for their outstanding work and commitment.

This year, the Tenants Information Service (TIS) received a high number of fantastic nominations, all of which highlighted the positive outcomes that can be achieved through tenant participation when landlords and tenants work together.

The finalists and winners recognised at the 2016 awards ceremony were:

Frances Nelson MBE Excellence Award, sponsored by Dundee City Council
Presenter: Councillor John Alexander

Winner: Bruce Cuthbertson, Kilmarnock
Anne McGhee, Coatbridge
Irene Cadona, Bargeddie

Tenant Participation Champion, sponsored by The Scottish Government
Presenter: Anne Cook, The Scottish Government

Winner: Suzie Burt, Perth & Kinross Council
Gary Craig, East Ayrshire Council
Stephen O’Neill, North Lanarkshire Council

Community Development Excellence, sponsored by CIH
Presenter: Esther Wilson, CIH

Winner: East Ayrshire Tenant and Resident Federation
Bargeddie Tenant and Resident Association
Wingate Tenant and Resident Association

Tenant and Resident Organisation of the Year, sponsored by International Union of Tenants
Presenter: Magnus Hammer, IUT

Winner: Gateside Tenant and Resident Association
East Ayrshire Tenant and Resident Federation
Merrylee Resident and Tenant Organisation

Scrutiny Excellence Award
Presenter: Danny Mullen, TIS

Winner: Hillcrest Housing Association
Home Scotland
Wishaw & District Housing Association

Most Inspiring Scrutiny Group
Presenter: Ilene Campbell, TIS

Winner: West Lothian Tenants Panel, Financial Scrutiny
Clyde Valley Customer Panel
Tenants Involved in Grassroots Scrutiny

The National Excellence Awards took place as part of the TIS Annual Conference at the Westerwood Hotel and Resort near Glasgow.

Applications for next year’s TIS National Excellence Awards will open in February 2017.